WIP Wednesday #76: Fabric prep, needles & quilting tips

In this episode of WIP Wednesday Vanessa will answer questions that have been submitted by viewers regarding fabric prep, sewing machine needles, quilt batting and quilt binding.

It’s easy to to overlook the importance of fabric prep and choosing the right sewing needles. Whether you’re an experienced quilter or a beginner, having the right tools and techniques for fabric preparation can be the difference between a beautiful quilt that stands the test of time, and a quilt that leaves much to be desired.

In this WIP Wednesday, we’ll be discussing how to properly identify needles, how to piece quilt batting together and my tips and tricks for a perfect quilt binding. Plus we’ll talk about how to prepare fabric to make sure your sewing project is the best it can be.

Join us and maybe you’ll pick up a few tips that will help you, too!

Vanessa is answering pre-submitted questions. If you’d like to submit a sewing/quilting question for Vanessa to answer on a future WIP Wednesday episode please use this form: https://forms.gle/D2qMCVJxfAgJHvWb7

Questions answered:

3:37 – Why do we always have to wash and dry fabric before we start a project?

16:00 – How do you know which sewing machine needle to use?

26:21 – How much batting can I piece together before it looses it’s integrity?

34:00 – My preferred method for joining the end of a machine sewn quilt binding

Products and projects mentioned & used:

• My favorite irons: https://youtu.be/96UxZg3d25U

• Niagara Spray Starch (affiliate link): https://amzn.to/3LbzUF9

• Schmetz Sewing Machine Needles: https://craftygemini.com/shop/schmetz-sewing-machine-needles/

• SCHMETZ Sewing Machine Needle Color Code Chart: https://www.schmetzneedles.com/pages/sewing-machine-needle-color-code-chart

• OLFA 45mm Rotary Cutter: https://craftygemini.com/shop/olfa-45mm-rotary-cutter/

• Crafty Gemini 5″ x 10″ Ruler: https://craftygemini.com/shop/crafty-gemini-5-x-10-ruler/

• JUKI HZL- LB5020 Sewing Machine: https://craftygemini.com/shop/juki-hzl-lb5020-sewing-machine/

• Mini Kites Quilt Block from Crafty Gemini Quilt Club: FPP Edition: https://craftygemini.com/shop/crafty-gemini-quilt-club-fpp-edition/

• Small Tailors Clapper: https://craftygemini.com/shop/small-tailors-clapper/

• PDF and Video Workshops: https://craftygemini.com/product-category/pdf-video-workshops/

Sign up here for the Crafty Gemini Newsletter to receive reminders about next week’s episode.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.