WIP Wednesday #75: Selvages, seam allowances, and more!

In this episode of WIP Wednesday Vanessa will answer questions that have been submitted by viewers regarding sewing with mesh fabric, selvages, needle positions, 1/8″ seam allowances and rotary cutters.

Whether you’re experienced or a novice just starting out, these sewing fundamentals will be sure to help you tackle your next sewing project with confidence. When it comes to the successful completion of any sewing project, there are certain concepts that can make or break your project. Crucial is the understanding of selvages and seam allowances. For the experienced seamstress, this should be second nature. For the novice, however, this can seem like an intimidating obstacle.

To help demystify the concepts, this week’s WIP Wednesday #75 will be dedicated to discussing selvages, seam allowances, and more! Join us and maybe you’ll pick up a few tips that will help you, too!

Vanessa is answering pre-submitted questions. If you’d like to submit a sewing/quilting question for Vanessa to answer on a future WIP Wednesday episode please use this form: https://forms.gle/D2qMCVJxfAgJHvWb7

Questions Answered:

  1. How to sew mesh to vinyl, starts at 1:40
  2. What kind of clips do you use instead of pins when you’re sewing, starts at 14:32
  3. Why can’t you use selvage in your projects, starts at 17:08
  4. Clarifying needle position & presser feet when you’re sewing, starts at 24:33
  5. Keeping a consistent 1/8″ seam allowance, starts at 30:40
  6. Best rotary cutters, starts at 34:18

Products and projects mentioned & used:

• Clear Vinyl, 16 Gauge- 16″ x 54″ roll: https://craftygemini.com/shop/clear-vinyl-16-gauge-16-x-54-roll/

• 4-Pack of Faux Leather for Kendall Snap Pouch: https://craftygemini.com/shop/4-pack-of-faux-leather-for-kendall-snap-pouch/

• Mesh Fabric- 18″ x 54″: https://craftygemini.com/shop/mesh-fabric-18-x-54/

• PDF and Video Workshops: https://craftygemini.com/product-category/pdf-video-workshops/

• JUKI HZL- LB5020 Sewing Machine: https://craftygemini.com/shop/juki-hzl-lb5020-sewing-machine/

• Crafty Gemini 5″ x 10″ Ruler: https://craftygemini.com/shop/crafty-gemini-5-x-10-ruler/

• My Handi Quilter interview: https://youtu.be/gYzKDw2Fo8o

• OLFA 45mm Rotary Cutter: https://craftygemini.com/shop/olfa-45mm-rotary-cutter/

Sign up here for the Crafty Gemini Newsletter to receive reminders about next week’s episode.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.