WIP WEDNESDAY #61: Tips for adding a false bottom to a bag with Crafty Gemini

In this WIP Wednesday episode Vanessa will share tips for making a false bottom (a.k.a- a hard bottom) for your bag projects.

The February 2022 project in the Crafty Gemini Bag Maker Subscription Box was an insulated lunch box that came with a piece of template plastic for use as a false bottom. A false bottom helps give bag projects more structure and a more rigid bottom so the fabric layers don’t buckle with added weight inside the bag.

Tune in to learn what types of materials you could use to create your own false bottoms as well as how to take the measurements to cover it with fabric for a cleaner finish inside your bags!

• Sign up for the Hipster Apron Pattern Online Course & Kit: https://craftygemini.com/shop/hipster-apron-course-kit-flash-sale-bundle/

• Buy the t-shirt Vanessa is wearing: https://craftygemini.com/shop/fabric-thread-magic-t-shirt/

• If you missed joining the Bag Maker Subscription Box join the waitlist here: https://craftygemini.com/shop/bag-maker-subscription-box/

Remember TIME CHANGE! WIP Wednesdays have moved to 12:30pm ET.

Products and projects used:

• Sign up for the Hipster Apron Pattern Online Course & Kit: https://craftygemini.com/shop/hipster-apron-course-kit-flash-sale-bundle/

• Buy the t-shirt Vanessa is wearing: https://craftygemini.com/shop/fabric-thread-magic-t-shirt/

• If you missed joining the Bag Maker Subscription Box join the waitlist here: https://craftygemini.com/shop/bag-maker-subscription-box/

• Plastic Heavy Duty Quilting Template: https://amzn.to/3wDRq0P

• Crafty Gemini 5″ x 10″ Ruler: https://craftygemini.com/shop/crafty-gemini-5-x-10-ruler/

• Small Tailors Clapper: https://craftygemini.com/shop/small-tailors-clapper/

• Martelli Round About 3-Piece Set: https://craftygemini.com/shop/martelli-round-about-3-piece-set/

• JUKI HZL- LB5020 Sewing Machine: https://craftygemini.com/shop/juki-hzl-lb5020-sewing-machine/

• Pinking shears (affiliate link)https://amzn.to/33spIaS

• Clipper Thread Snips: https://craftygemini.com/shop/clipper-thread-snips/

• Scissors: https://craftygemini.com/shop/kai/

• OLFA 28mm Rotary Cutter: https://craftygemini.com/shop/olfa-28mm-rotary-cutter/

• My favorite irons: https://youtu.be/96UxZg3d25U

• Glue Tip: https://www.etsy.com/listing/460009845/fineline-glue-applicator-16-gauge-5?ref=shop_review

Sign up here for the Crafty Gemini Newsletter to receive reminders about next week’s episode.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.